mailing list

spacer Home About Current In Development Past Press Contact Twitter









Dear Evan Hansen


Press video Buzz  

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

A letter that was never meant to be seen, a lie that was never meant to be told, a life he never dreamed he could have. Evan Hansen is about to get the one thing he’s always wanted: a chance to finally fit in.

Both deeply personal and profoundly contemporary, Dear Evan Hansen is a new American musical about life and the way we live it.

Winner of 6 Tony Awards, including Best Musical, Dear Evan Hansen has struck a remarkable chord with audiences and critics everywhere.

Who’s Who in the Cast:  Ben Platt leads the cast as Evan Hansen.  The company also features Laura Dreyfuss as Zoe Murphy, Michael Park as Larry Murphy, Mike Faist as Connor Murphy, Rachel Bay Jones as Heidi Hansen, Kristolyn Lloyd as Alana Beck, Will Roland as Jared Kleinman, and Jennifer Laura Thompson as Cynthia Murphy.

Score: Benj Pasek & Justin Paul
Book: Steven Levenson
Director: Michael Greif
Theatre: Music Box Theatre
Opening Date: December 4, 2016

SMP’s Favorite Moments: The first visit to the beautiful Music Box Theatre, as the close-knit Dear Evan Hansen family was reunited once more, followed several weeks later by the sea of blue DEH hats that flooded 45th Street as our beloved audience members left the first preview performance.  The exhilarating “Digital Listening Party” on the eve of the cast recording’s release - when more than a thousand fans gathered online to experience the album together for the first time, and continued the conversation into the wee hours of the morning.

Get the Music:
The Dear Evan Hansen Original Broadway Cast Recording is now available for download on all music services.  The CD and limited edition blue vinyl album are also available in stores and for purchase online.

Read the Script: Dear Evan Hansen is available in print, published by TCG.  Purchase your copy hereDear Evan Hansen: Through the Window, the official behind-the-scenes coffee table book, will be released by Grand Central Publishing on November 21, 2017, and is available for pre-order here.


Obie Awards
Award for Musical Theater
Award for Performance  – Ben Platt

Outer Critics Circle Awards 
Outstanding New Off-Broadway Musical
Outstanding Book of a Musical

Drama Desk Award
Outstanding Lyrics

Actors' Equity Association Clarence Derwent Award
Ben Platt

Helen Hayes Awards
Outstanding Musical
Outstanding Director of a Musical

Lucille Lortel Awards:
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Musical - Ben Platt
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical – Rachel Bay Jones

Drama League Awards
Outstanding Production of a Musical
Distinguished Performance Award – Ben Platt


Official Site | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube



Terms and Conditions | Privacy Policy